Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: NetworkUsage does not produces graphs

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    13

    NetworkUsage does not produces graphs

    Hi all !

    I'm trying to understand why the service NetworkUsage into the linux pack doesn't produces graphs in PNP.
    After loosing pair of hours, I decided to open this thread to asking your help !

    Shinken service is configured correctly and result is OK !

    I understood that there is no template (why ?) for this service into /usr/local/pnp4nagios/share/templates.dist/ thus I try to use one we can found on this link:
    https://github.com/willixix/WL-NagiosPlugins

    I put check_snmp_network_interface_linux.php and check_snmp_network_interface_linux.cfg into templates.dist directory and I renamed them to check_snmp_netint.php and check_snmp_netint.cfg, I have chowned them for shinken user and finally I restarted shinken... Nothing happens

    When I open my browser on this URL: http://<IP_SERVER>/pnp4nagios/index....v=NetworkUsage
    I can see a red error message that indicates:
    Code:
    Please check the documentation for information about the following error.
    
    XML file "/usr/local/pnp4nagios/var/perfdata/localhost/NetworkUsage.xml" not found. Read FAQ online
    
    file [line]:
    
    application/models/data.php [312]:
    
    back
    If I understand correctly: PNP templates that are placed into templates.dist directory generates automaticaly the XML file who is missing in my case, and then graphs are produced without doing something.

    So, what is wrong ? Anyone had already met this problem that makes me crazy ???

    Gracias in advance !

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    52

    Re: NetworkUsage does not produces graphs

    Hi,

    XML file should be created automatically, try rename or remove the /usr/local/pnp4nagios/var/perfdata/localhost/NetworkUsage*

    Then wait for recreation.

    You should also try the same test process without the template check_snmp_network_interface_linux you download.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    13

    Re: NetworkUsage does not produces graphs

    Hi,

    thanks for answering,

    the problem is that I have nothing who's named "NetworkUsage" into /usr/local/pnp4nagios/var/perfdata/localhost/ !
    I assume that the rrd base comes when we installs shinken plugins, then XML file is created when we use the check_snmp_netint.pl plugin (that is includes into the linux pack) for the first time ?
    Plugin installation may be wrong ?

  4. #4
    Shinken project leader
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Bordeaux (France)
    Posts
    2,131

    Re: NetworkUsage does not produces graphs

    Is the npcd daemon running well?
    No direct support by personal message. Please open a thread so everyone can see the solution

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    13

    Re: NetworkUsage does not produces graphs

    Yes, It's running:

    Code:
    # /etc/init.d/npcd status
    npcd (pid 32379) is running...
    All others plugins have their graphs that working properly.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    13

    Re: NetworkUsage does not produces graphs

    A strange thing happens: I define the same NetworkUsage environment (command+service cfg+template) for windows pack and here, graphs are working ... (PNP and Graphs tab into shinken UI)
    I can find NetworkUsage.xml and NetworkUsage.rrd into /usr/local/pnp4nagios/var/perfdata/<my-win-srv>/

    I configured another linux host and define it for using linux pack: same thing that the first linux host, service is OK but graphs doesn't works.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    52

    Re: NetworkUsage does not produces graphs

    Strange....
    Do you use same check_command to check nic usage againt linux and windows hosts?

    Is there performance data displayed on service detail in WebUi for linux hosts? Could you provide us some output for both hosts type?


  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    13

    Re: NetworkUsage does not produces graphs

    Here is the check_command on both linux and windows hosts:
    Code:
    define command {
        command_name  check_windows_network_usage
        command_line  $PLUGINSDIR$/check_snmp_netint.pl -H $HOSTADDRESS$ -C $_HOSTSNMPCOMMUNITY$ -n "0x436f6e6e6578696f6e2072827365617520496e74656c2852292050524f2f31303030204d5400" -f -e -z -w $_HOSTNET_WARN$ -c $_HOSTNET_CRIT$ -q -k -y -M -B -m -P "$SERVICEPERFDATA$" -T "$LASTSERVICECHECK$"
    }
    
    define service{
      service_description  NetworkUsage
      use          generic-service,5min_short
      register        0
      host_name       windows
      check_command     check_windows_network_usage
    }
    
    
    define command {
        command_name   check_linux_network_usage
        command_line   $PLUGINSDIR$/check_snmp_netint.pl -H $HOSTADDRESS$ -C $_HOSTSNMPCOMMUNITY$ -n "eth\d+|em\d+" -f -e -w $_HOSTNET_WARN$ -c $_HOSTNET_CRIT$ -q -k -y -M -B -m -P "$SERVICEPERFDATA$" -T "$LASTSERVICECHECK$"
    }
    
    define service{
      service_description  NetworkUsage
      use          generic-service,5min_short
      register        0
      host_name       linux
      check_command     check_linux_network_usage
    }
    Here is the result that is displayed into shinken WebUI for each service:
    Windows:
    0x436f6e6e6578696f6e2072827365617520496e74656c2852 292050524f2f31303030204d5400:UP (no usable data - 1 rows) 1 UP): OK

    Linux:
    eth0:UP (0.1Mbps/0.1Mbps/0.0/0.0/0.0/0.0), eth2:UP (no usable data - 1 rows) , eth3:UP (no usable data - 1 rows) , eth1:UP (no usable data - 1 rows) 4 UP): OK

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1

    Re: NetworkUsage does not produces graphs

    Same Problem here on a new basic automated installation on centos 6.3. Everything is working fine, except no graphs for NetworkUsage.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    52

    Re: NetworkUsage does not produces graphs

    [quote author=djill link=topic=715.msg3980#msg3980 date=1355408155]
    Here is the result that is displayed into shinken WebUI for each service:
    Windows:
    0x436f6e6e6578696f6e2072827365617520496e74656c2852 292050524f2f31303030204d5400:UP (no usable data - 1 rows) 1 UP): OK

    Linux:
    eth0:UP (0.1Mbps/0.1Mbps/0.0/0.0/0.0/0.0), eth2:UP (no usable data - 1 rows) , eth3:UP (no usable data - 1 rows) , eth1:UP (no usable data - 1 rows) 4 UP): OK
    [/quote]

    Ok, this is the output, don't you have performance data? I meen behind pipe symbol on plugin output.
    like:
    Code:
    eth1:UP (0.1Mbps/0.0Mbps/0.0/0.0/0.0/0.0):(1 UP): OK | eth1_in_prct'=0%;90;;0;100 'eth1_out_prct'=0%;90;;0;100[...]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •